Proceedings of the 27th Texas Symposium on Relativistic Astrophysics

These non-refereed proceedings mark the 50th anniversary of the Texas Symposium on Relativistic Astrophysics. The 27th Texas Symposium was held in Dallas, TX on December 8-13, 2013, celebrating 50 years of relativistic astrophysics. The meeting included approximately 300 international research contributions. A full program is available at

The Scientific Organizing Committee consisted of: Wolfgang Rindler (Co-Chair), Mustapha Ishak (Co-Chair), Odylio Aguiar, John Barrow, Rong Gen Cai, Manuela Campanelli, Thibault Damour, Scott Dodelson, George Ellis, Wendy Freedman, Vicky Kaspi, Rocky Kolb, Kayll Lake, Avi Loeb, Dimitri Nanopoulos, Thanu Padmanabhan, Tsvi Piran, Martin Rees, Jurgen Renn, Frank Rieger, Remo Ruffini, Misao Sasaki, Bernard Schutz, Douglas Scott, Joseph Silk, David Spergel, Alexei Starobinsky, Paul Steinhardt, Grazina Tautvaisiene, Virginia Trimble, Henry Tye, and Steven Weinberg.

The Local Organizing Committee consisted of: Wolfgang Rindler (Co-Chair), Mustapha Ishak (Co-Chair), Ivor Robinson, Larry Ammann, Xingang Chen, Robert Glosser, Barbara Hollis, Beth Keithly, Michael Kesden, Lindsay King, Lucas Macri, Zdzislaw Musielak, Fred Olness, Don Salisbury, Michael Troxel, Anzhong Wang, Julie Welch, Emily West, and Craig Wheeler.

Contained within these non-refereed proceedings are the plenary and contributed talks presented during the sessions on Monday through Friday, distributed by date, and the posters presented in the primary poster session on Thursday. Also included are a video record of the plenary roundtable discussion and public lecture on Wednesday.